North Face Disaster

Excerpt from one of my story’s:

It was a windy and snowy day on the north face of Mount Snow. The best part of the mountain with only trails for advanced skiers. Grasping my poles so I don’t fall over from the skiers whizzing by. The sound of the lifts rolling giving me goosebumps. I was with my family and my family friends. Some of the best people to possibly ski with. Once we got to the top of the mountain my friends were informing me on a tree trail off to the side. Usually the tree trails I went through were only a couple feet into the woods.

 But this one was different.

 The trees were close together and there was no end in sight. It seemed a little risky, but I was up for the challenge. I have been skiing ever since I could walk. What was I supposed to be worried about? They knew their way around. All I needed to do was stay behind them and everything would be okay.

 Or at least that’s what I thought…

 It was tough than expected. You could barely move an inch through the forest. Then suddenly WHACK! I could feel a rough scraping against my head as I hit the ground. The cold snow seeping into my jacket. My eyes filling with a black darkness.

 10 minutes later…

 I woke up. Totally dazed. Laying there for a second waiting for my eyes to get back into focus.

“Hello? Hello! Anyone there?” I yelled through the enormous forest. I needed to get out of there and the only way to do that was to go down hill. I kept taking the path to the left. Downwards, down,down,down. On top of getting hit unconscious I saw a sign that said,

 CAUTION-YOU ARE NOW OUT OF BOUNDS

 I didn’t know which way to go so I followed the tracks. It was very hard though. There were a million different ways to go.

“Oh mom I have missed you so much” I said as I hugged her. Tighter than ever before. Meanwhile, a hideous face looked down at me. I screamed, skied, and slid on the slick snow.

Mount Snow, North Face

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *