Caden’s Letter Essay #9: “Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies”

4/7/15
I have read the book The Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies by David Lubar. This book was riveting in action packed short stories. It showed many great strategies used by writers such as foreshadowing and ironic names of chapter titles. Also he made each character in the book was different and showed different problems they had to apprehend. Many details were given to show a full picture in the collection of stories in this book. I chose this book because I love short stories and I also love comedy. The style of this book is comedy but in a twisted kind of. What I mean is that the author adds horror in the ending and adds an ironic twist at the end. So I guess the genre is horror at the beginning and comedy at the end. One of my favorite stories is called Frankendance. This short story is about a girl who doesn’t get a date to the dance so her dad improvises and builds her a date. Everybody nose how it ends. To get that pun you’ll have to read the story. I liked the way the author adds a twist at the end. This book reminded me of my 4th grade teacher who would read funny stories to us. One of my favorite passages in the story Frankendance is the description of her date. The description makes you picture it in your mind.
” I went into my room to change. When I came back out a big guy in a black sweater was standing next to my dad. As I got closer, I saw that he has one blue eye and one brown eye. His ears were different sizes, and one of them was sort of rotated a bit so his earlobe pointed towards his nose. At least I think it was a nose. It was in the right place, and had 2 holes, but beyond that, the resemblance was kind of weak. “This is Stichy,” my dad says.”
I rate this book a 9-10 because of the twist endings. I really enjoyed this authors work and I hope you do too.
Sincerely, Caden period 2

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Caden’s Letter Essay #9: “Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies”

  1. I think that you’re explanation of the story is very good and that you had a very strong Quote, I also like how you sneaked a little pun into the end of explanation, it was clever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *