Hannah’s Letter Essay #10: The Liars Society

I just finished The Liars Society. An amazing 350 page book. This mystery started off with your average teenage girl. Kate Lowry was still trying mourning the death of her best friend Grace when she hears a click from her computer. She see’s an email from Grace. She tries to figure out who this is really from. It can’t be from Grace… She’s well dead. But is someone holding her captive. No way. Maybe shes alive? Throughout the book, Grace and her admirer Seth try to figure out the clues hidden inside Grace’s emails. I choose the book because the cover caught  my eye. Once i finished reading the small summary on the back i immediately wanted to know who was sending these clue-filled letters.

My favorite part of Lisa and Laura Roceker’s book was the first page. It started with Kate Lowry, a teenage girl checking her email. When she gets an odd message… from her dead best friend. “Her email didn’t didn’t move or disappear or do any of the creepy things I’d expect from an email from a ghost. It was just there. Existing.  It read-

Kate I’m here… Sort of. Find Cameron. He knows. I shouldn’t be writing. Don’t tell. They’ll hurt you.  The words blurred on the screen and my hands went limp. My phone clattered to my hardwood floor, the battery popping off and sliding underneath my bed. Dead best friends didn’t send emails. I shook my head fiercely in attempt to clear my thoughts. It was the anniversary of her death and I missed Grace more than anything. Maybe my mind was just playing tricks on me. Maybe this really wasn’t happening. I took a deep breath and grabbed my, and refreshed my mail. My hand flew to my mouth when I saw her name on the screen again.” That paragraph was from pages 1-2. I quoted that passage because that is what hooked me. Rereading that passage still gives me the chills. It left my mind thinking what was going to happen.

I would rate this book a 8 out 10. I would rate it that because some of the scenes they added were slow and not necessary in the book. At times I was bored and felt like not reading it anymore but then there were parts where I just couldn’t put it down. The book was overall good with a few slow parts.

 Sincerely,

Hannah

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

5 thoughts on “Hannah’s Letter Essay #10: The Liars Society

  1. The paragraph that you chose really made me what to read it. It really showed that there would be a lot of suspense on this book.

  2. You described the book really well and the paragraph you chose was a good choice. It really got me hooked on the book. That will definitely be a book to read

    1. Hi!

      This book really was amazing. You should definitely read this book. The only thing I didn’t like about it was that there were a few parts that were very slow and that made it hard to keep reading but once you get past those parts it gets really good.

      Thanks for commenting!!
      Hannah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *