Anthony’s Letter Essay #11: The Outsiders

I have just finished reading The Outsiders, a 180 page book by S.E. Hinton. I chose this book because it was a choice between this book and Stargirl, and I already read Stargirl, so I chose The Outsiders. Ponyboy is part of a teen gang in Oklahoma. Him and his friends are referred to as greasers. The Socs a rival group of rich boys who beat up greasers like Ponyboy, one night ends in a death of a Soc member. The boys are forced to go into hiding. Soon Ponyboy and Johnny and their other greaser friends must deal with the consequences of their violent lives. While some greasers try to achieve redemption, others meet unseen ends. The climax of this plot took a huge twist when Johnny kills one of the Socs. I didn’t like how the author used alot of slang in her writing because it made it hard to understand. This is the scene when one of the Socs was murdered. “The next thing I knew I was lying on the pavement beside the fountain, coughing water and gasping. I lay there weakly, breathing in air and spitting out water. The wind blasted through my soaked sweatshirt and dripping hair. My teeth chattered unceasingly and I couldn’t stop them. I finally pushed myself up and leaned back against the fountain, the water running down my face. Then I saw Johnny” PG 56. I quoted this passage to show the tenseness of the situation. I would rate this book a 8 out of 10.

From,

Anthony

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Anthony’s Letter Essay #11: The Outsiders

  1. i found it great that you finished this book when we started reading it. i think your quote shows the books tone but you should have put a spoiler warning. Great essay any way.

    from,
    George

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *