Kurtis, Where Are You From?

 

 

I’m from the zipline in my backyard shooting down the steel cable swishing as I go down to the ground.

I’m from the adventurous father and comforting mother, Paul and Kelly. And crazed brothers Dakota and Cassidy.

 

I’m from my pet cats: Striper and Boots, my iguanas: Butch and Red, my dog, Sky, my snake Orange, and my spider, Sheeva.

I’m from the thriving metropolis of Belize, the warm summers of California, and the very snowy winters of Vermont.

I’m from the warm center of hot pockets, the dry taste of Mexican food, and the sweet taste of Japanese soda.

I’m that zipline flying, brother caring, pet loving, vacation craving, hot pocket/Mexican food consuming, Japanese soda-drinking person.

 

That’s where I’m from.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Kurtis, Where Are You From?

  1. Dear Kurtis,

    Good job on your poem! I really liked the details such as ” shooting down the steel cable swishing as I go down to the ground”. It really set the scene of what was going on. But you should try to elaborate more on your stanzas. I liked how in one of your stanzas you talked about the different places you go, such as Belize, California, and Vermont. I really liked it because each place had a different season, and you elaborated on that. Great job!

    -Margaret

  2. Dear Kurtis
    I love the detail and description in your poem. My favorite line is the one with the hotpockets “I’m from the warm center of hot pockets, the dry taste of Mexican food, and the sweet taste of Japanese soda”. You could have described more about the food you ate like where you get it from and how you like to eat it. I love how you name you r past and present pets. You did an awesome job!
    Yours Truly
    Robbie

  3. I liked the part where you described the inside of a hotpocket. I myself have always wondered what the inside of a hot pocket looked like. Seriously though, it is good that you included pet names and capitalized them, Mr Jockers always telly us to do that. Good job.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *