Letter Essay #3

I have just finished reading “The Little Prince”. A 111 page novel written and illustrated by Antoine de Saint Exupery. who was a pilot in world war 1. This book is a classic and was published in 1943 and recently a movie came out about it. So the reason why I read this book was because of the book talk my teacher (Mr.Jockers) did. He talked about how he read it a long time ago and that at first it made no sense to him, but then over the summer he read it again. This time though he enjoyed it because he understood it better. What really hooked me was that is was a classic and one of my reading goals for this year was to read 3 classic’s which I just finished. Also by reading this I can add it to the 40 book challenge that was assigned and is due by the end of the year. One of the things that surprised me though was that I enjoyed it. Usually when I read a classic it isn’t that enjoyable. But this book was different and even though it was written 73 year ago it is still one of the best books of all time.

In the novel ” The Little Prince” the narrator is a downed pilot in the deadly Sahara desert, where he is frantically trying to repair his wrecked plane. His efforts were interrupted one day by a strange character that goes by the name of “Little Prince”. He (the little prince) asks the narrator to draw him a sheep. “In the face of an overpowering mystery,you don’t dare disobey,” the narrator recalls. So he took a scrap piece of paper, a pen, and started to draw the sheep. But also by drawing the sheep it begins their dialogue where the Prince describes his journey from planet to planet; each inhabited by an adult. They each have different traits but they have one trait in common… selfishness.

I think one thing that stood out was the common theme of the little prince not ever forgetting a question. No matter how long it took to get the answer, he got it. I also noticed in the beginning of the book the narrator always talked about the drawing of the snake digesting the elephant. What I don’t get is why did he care or not if people did not understand his drawing.The last thing that I noticed is that this book felt like a Fairytale. The reason why I say that is each of the Little Princes adventures are little stories but they still all have the same theme, selfishness between grownups. But the one story that was different then all of these was when the little prince came to earth to find a fox. (Pg 83)

“Nothing is perfect,” sighed the fox. My life is very monotonous,” he said. ” I hunt chickens, men hunt me. All the chickens are just alike, and all the men are just alike. And, in consequence, I am a little bored. But if you tame me, it will be as if the sun came to shine on my life.” I shall know the sound of a step that will be different from all the others. Other steps send me hurrying back underneath the ground. Yours will call me, like music, out of my borrow.”

The reason why I picked this passage is because it is different from all the other stories. This story the Little Prince can relate to the fox especially when the fox said “all men are all alike”. Meaning selfish. But when I thought about it it’s not true. I’m not the same as the person next to me or across from me. We might have similarities but as a whole we are probably very different. What I also noticed was the illustrations were pretty well done, for someone who has never drawn before.

I would rate this book a 7 out of 10 because even though this book was a fun read, I still find it hard in some places to really understand what’s going on. I would recommend this book to anyone that is looking for a challenge.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *