Bobby’s Letter Essay #5: The Mysterious Benedict Society

Dear, Fellow Classmates

I have just finished reading the book “The Mysterious Benedict Society” by Trenton Lee Stewart. Stewart Wrote this 1st book of a series of 4 back in early 2007. Stewart is a 45 year old writer who attended Iowa University. This 484 page book is one of the greatest books I have read. I chose this book because it was a book I always wanted to read that was sitting on my coach and I never had a chance to get to.

This book is about the main character Rene. Rene is an orphan and is Mothered by Miss Perumal.  One day she was reading the newspaper and saw an ad that said “If your child is gifted and looking for special opportunities?”. So Rene takes a test that is very simple to him but with non-normal test questions. Four people end up passing this test Rene, Kate, George and Constance, all of these children very gifted. They are all taken to the residents of Mr Benedict a super smart man. They are guarded and taught by incredible people there to protect them. The do various missions with clues and challenges. They then further learn that they learn a super evil genius named Ledroptha Curtain. What ends up happening is that they go under cover at his “Gifted” school to find more info about this strange plot of his. And that is the least I can say without giving it away.

I really like how the Lee Stewart makes this book a page turner loaded with such good information. Just how he explains it is really good and makes you feel like you are there but not to much that it makes it boring. I did not like how he explained the evil genius it makes it so easily to give it away and was so predictable but still was a page turner. I loved it when they explained there very hard tasks to preform that are hard to do and are fun to do and give you hints for the book

This is the part of the story where the 4 kids nicked the “Benedict Society”, were undercover in the evil geniuses school and they figured out that he was putting information through the school to other villans.

“The hidden messages are coming from the Institute, aren’t they?” Rene said. “I believe the school was created for that very purpose,” Said Mr Benedict

This short but very important dialogue hints you and really makes this book a interesting twist and surprising elements. I would give this book a 9.5/10, this book is such a good plot and meaning and left me on the edge of my seat. It very rarely was confusing or boring but very interesting with clues and mysteries.

-Bobby

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Bobby’s Letter Essay #5: The Mysterious Benedict Society

  1. Dear Bobby,
    This book sounds strange and looks like a fun read and I’m glad you liked it. I think it’s interesting how they take a non-normal test. You wrote this essay very well with the prefect amount of detail without spoiling the ending.
    Well done,
    -Harrison

  2. Bob Tre,
    I loved your letter essay. It was filled with info about the book that would make someone want to read it, with out giving up the big secret. I think I definitely want to read this book now!

    From,
    Tiernan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *