Music Appreciation: Imagery: Best Day of My Life, by American Authors

Imagery, Hyperbole (0:13), Hyperbole (1:10). I had a dream so big and loud I jump so high I touched the clouds. I howled out at the moon with friends and then the sun came crashing in.

Explanation: These lines found in the popular 2014 song Best Day of My Life by American authors are two examples of hyperboles, or exaggerations. Their choice of words are not meant to be taken literally by audiences. I jumped so high I touched the clouds is used to demonstrate the idea that he reached the farthest he could to his dreams. The sun came crashing in is written to exaggerate the occurrence of sunrise.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1 thought on “Music Appreciation: Imagery: Best Day of My Life, by American Authors

  1. dear david,
    I really liked the song and it shows imagery very well. this shows how good this band actually is.
    -Robbie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *