Music Appreciation: Storytelling: People are Crazy, Billy Currington

Lyrics:

“People Are Crazy”

This old man and me
were at the bar and we
Were having us some beers
and swapping I-don’t-cares
Talking politics,
blonde and red-head chicks
Old dogs and new tricks
and habits we ain’t kicked

We talked about God’s grace
and all the heck we raised
Then I heard the ol’ man say,
“God is great, beer is good and people are crazy.”

He said, “I fought two wars,
Been married and divorced.”
What brings you to Ohio?
He said, ” if I know.”
We talked an hour or two
About every girl we knew
What all we put ’em through
Like two old boys’ll do

We pondered life and death
He lit a cigarette
He said, “These things’ll kill me yet.
But God is great, beer is good and people are crazy.”

Last call, it’s 2 AM,
I said goodbye to him
I never talked to him again

Then one sunny day,
I saw the old man’s face
Front page obituary,
he was a millionaire
he left his fortune to
some guy he barely knew,
his kids were mad
But me, I’m doing well

And I dropped by today
to just say thanks and pray,
and I left a six-pack right there on his grave
and I said,
“God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy.”

God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy.
God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *