Luke Gardone, Letter Essay #9

Dear Classmates,

I recently finished reading the book “The Power Of Six” this is a sequel to the last book I read, “I Am Number 4”. Unlike it’s predecessor this book has not been turned into a movie, due to the last movie being truly terrible. This is a shame because they are both excellent books, and if done right could have made an excellent movie. The Power Of Six was written by Pittacus Lore. I read this book because I Am Number 4 is one of my favorite books and these books are a connected series, each one leaving you in suspense. This is a very fast paced book and overall it was very good.

This book follows multiple characters, all of which intertwine by the end of the book. One part of the story follows 4, 6, and 4’s best friend Sam Goode. The second part of the story follows 7 in Santa Teresa at a orphanage. The book starts with 4 on the run because the mogadorians finally found him. 4 is searching for the remaining Loriens because they are starting to get their powers and will have a better chance at defending themselves. The first glimpse we get of 7 is her reading about 4’s battle with the mogadorians that destroyed a high school. Later in the book 7 also decides that she needs to meet up with the remaining Loriens.

I like the way the author told the story from multiple perspectives, this is a change from the first book but I think it is a good change. I like this style because it gives you multiple stories to think about and in the end you get to see how they intertwine.

The characters in this book are extremely well developed. The author develops these characters by including the characters’ background information and the characters’ personal thoughts and opinions. The author makes you feel like you know the characters.

I disagree with telling the story from only two perspectives, personally when I read this writing style I like to manage three perspectives at the same time. I think this would have given the book a lot more depth.

“If you ever know a man who tries to drown his sorrows, kindly inform him his sorrows know how to swim.” (Page 143) This quote is said when 4 feels like giving up. 4 wants to give up because he feels that there is no hope and that his life’s purpose is useless. This line helped 4 continue his journey and eventually realize the importance of his quest.

I would give this book an 8 /10. Although it is an excellent book it lacks the multiple genres that the previous book had, this would be a 9 / 10 but keep in mind I am comparing it to the rest of the series.

 

Sincerely, Luke Gardone

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *