Raymond’s Letter Essay #9: The Lemonade War

Greetings Everyone,

For my final novel of the year, I chose The Lemonade War, containing 192 pages and a comedic and humorous genre.  It was written by Jacqueline Davies who born in 1962 and at the start of the 21st century wrote several great books.  The Lemonade War was published in 2007.  I read it because I’ve decided to go into the Lemonade Business for the Summer and I thought I could find some tips in the book.  I was able to do so, but I won’t tell you because I don’t want anyone stealing my business.  I would like to tell you all that I always wanted to lemonade because it’s the easiest way to make money and now that school is out, I have little to no distractions!

So there are these 2 siblings, the older brother Evan and little sister Jessie.  They both are discontent with each other because Evan doesn’t like how smart Jessie is and Jessie doesn’t like how rude Evan is.  So eventually they both challenge each other to see who can make more money selling lemonade before Summer vacation ends in fews days.  Who will win? Evan or Jessie?  Read the book to find out!

I was surprised with the twist ending which I won’t give away here.  I liked the way Davies made a clever story out of a typical scenario.  This book reminded me of some good selling tactics.  I was interested in this passage, “Evan knew he was being mean, and he hated being mean, especially to her.” (pg. 7).  This quote is important because it establishes how Evan felt toward his sister. The quote shows that he would much rather be her friend and brother rather than someone who is at odds with her, or a classmate, even. He is so humiliated that he can’t think straight and even while he’s being mean to Jessie, some part of him is appalled.  I give this book 8.5 out of 10!

Sincerely,

Raymond Joseph Martin III

Goodbye!!!!!  Have A Great Summer!!!!!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *