Lucy’s Letter Essay #3: [Book Title]

Dear Readers of the blog,

Recently I finished reading, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life. This book is written by Wendy Mass and contains 289 pages! This book is realistic fiction. Wendy Mass is an author of young-adult novels and children’s books. Her most successful book was A Mango-Shaped Space which won the American Library Association Schneider Family Book Award for Middle School in 2004. Mass is the New York Times bestselling author of eighteen novels for young people (which have been translated into 20 languages and nominated for 76 state book awards).

Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life is a very well written novel. This book was published in 2006. The main idea of this story is about a twelve-year-old Jeremy Fink and his neighbor Lizzy Muldoun as they attempt to retrieve four keys that unlock a wooden box delivered one month before Jeremy’s 13th birthday. This book interested me when I was looking around in Mr. Jockers classroom library and I found this book. I read the back of it, and it seemed very interesting to me! I like books that have a lot of action going on and a lot of suspense, and this was the book for me!

In the novel, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life Jeremy and Lizzy were hanging out one day in his New York City Apartment and all of a sudden the mailman delivers a package to Jeremy’s address, but it was to Jeremy’s mom. Jeremy and his best friend Lizzy were very confused! Lizzy tells him to open the package. Inside the package they discover a wooden box with four keyholes. The box says, THE MEANING OF LIFE: FOR JEREMY FINK TO OPEN ON HIS 13TH BIRTHDAY. When Jeremy sees the box, he immediately thinks of his father who died in a car crash. There was a note on the box saying that the friend who was taking care of the box before Jeremy got it, lost all the keys. Now what will happen? “Determined to open the box, Jeremy and Lizzy contact a locksmith who explains that he is unable to pick the locks or break the box open without destroying the box and possibly its contents. The two friends set a goal to find the keys by the end of the summer so Jeremy can still open the box on his thirteenth birthday.”

I was surprised when Jeremy’s friend that was keeping the box and the keys, lost the keys!! I was surprised because, you would think, someone keeping a box that says for, THE MEANING OF LIFE: FOR JEREMY FINK TO OPEN ON HIS 13TH BIRTHDAY, I wouldn’t want to lose anything because I would want to be with Jeremy on his birthday, and I would especially want to know what’s inside the box! I know this was probably a mistake, I was still shocked! While I was reading, I was asking myself, “How did the person lose the keys?”.

What I like about this passage is that it highlights the author’s craft, and simple sentences. This was a very good book and it had a lot of action in it! The first sentence of the first page was, “My sweat smells like peanut butter”. Before I started to read on, I asked myself, “Why is this?” This book was definitely on my top 5 list and I would rate it a 10 out of 10! I’m definitely going to re-read this book in the future, that’s how well written it was! I never got bored while reading it, and usually the books I read, I have to skip some pages! I would recommend this book to anyone who likes realistic fiction.

Sincerely,

Lucy Witherbee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “Lucy’s Letter Essay #3: [Book Title]

  1. Dear Lucy,
    I really enjoyed reading your letter essay and thought it was really good. I especially liked your review of the book and it sounds like a great novel.

  2. Dear Lucy,
    I really enjoyed reading your letter essay. One thing I really liked was how you made the book sound so exciting by including punctuation and capitalizing all the words in a work or phrase.

  3. Dear Lucy,
    I really enjoyed reading your essay not only did I find it very exciting but very informational. I now feel that this book is a must read. I also like how you were asking questions while you were reading the book, this I think is a good and useful habit.

  4. Dear Lucy,
    You did a really nice job on your letter essay. You made the summary of the book very informational which made it easier to understand the book. Its really good that you are asking questions in the book. Something you can look out for is your spelling. Other than that you did really well

    Claire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *