Gwen’s Letter Essay #3: Stargirl

Dear Tellings blog,

Recently I read the book Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. This book is about a girl named Stargirl who moves to a school. She had been homeschooled her whole life up until now. She plays the ukulele and sings happy birthday to people at lunch. Everybody finds her father strange but can not stop watching her. She dances in the rain. Her pet rat’s name is Cinnamon and he likes earwax. She wears long flowy pioneer girl dresses.She wears no makeup and has a painted sunflower bag. At first the students can’t get enough of her. I choose this book because you recommended it to me (and it was really good). I liked the book a lot. One reason is because it’s so curious. For example, Stargirl changes her name whenever she feels like it. Once she named herself Pocketmouse. In the book she said ”I’m not my name. My name is something I wear like a shirt. It gets worn. I outgrow it. I change it.” (pg.63) It’s an odd perspective and very interesting. What if we did that ourselves? Is that how names are supposed to be used? The book makes you think about random things we don’t even consider. I like that it makes you wonder. I rate this book a 7 ½ out of ten.

From,

Gwen

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *