Lydia’s Letter Essay #3: [Book Title]

Dear Readers of the Blog,

Recently, I finished reading the book called Golden Boy, by Tara Sullivan.  This was a 367 page realistic fiction book published in 2013. Tara Sullivan was born in India and spent her childhood living in Bangladesh, Ecuador, Bolivia, and the Dominican Republic with her parents who were international aid workers. Golden Boy was selected as a top ten book of 2013 by YALSA, Kirkus review, and the Wall Street Journal.

I chose to read this book because I was drawn in when I read the back of the book.  This book is the story of a boy named Habo who struggles with fitting in because he is an albino. An albino is a person who has super white skin and non-colored eyes.  Habo wasn’t fitting in with his village because the community was afraid of him. This is because albinos were hunted for their body parts which was said to bring good luck. Back when Habo was first born, his father couldn’t believe his eyes. Instead of tears of joy he was afraid and torn. This is because once he found out that his son was an albino he raced out of the hospital and left both his newborn son and his wife alone.

I was surprised to learn that there were people who would actually kill someone because they are Albino. I liked the way the author creates suspense and makes you want to keep reading. For example, “But all of a sudden my Father left me all alone in this big world.”p.9. This creates suspense because it’s making you ask all different kinds of questions like, why did the father leave him or whats going on?

Overall, I really liked the book, Golden Boy.  I liked it because it was different than the types of books I usually read. I liked the suspense and adventure Habo experienced traveling through the different villages. I  would rate this book a 10 out of 10. I think teens in general would take a liking to this book.

Sincerely, Lydia  

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *