Parents need to step up and watch out for their kids and suicide

When I was just eight years old, I said I wanted to kill myself. I was struggling mentally and I could not take it anymore. I felt like my life was over. My mom and dad were there for me but I did not get the constant support I needed. I was depressed and needed help. I would hide from my family and sit in my thoughts. I would skip school because I felt like a nobody. My mom was lucky enough to eventually realize and get the help I needed. It took a long time but I grew happier by the day. I still have depression but I can maintain. Unfortunately, others don’t get the help they need. Suicide is a problem in the US. It is the second leading cause of death for kids age 12-18 according the Jason Foundation in 2016.

There is always a cause or something that leads up to it. We might not be able to get rid of this troubling problem completely, but we can make a superior change. The thing is, suicide is preventable. Most unimpeachable teens show that they need help and give clear warning signs. Four out of five teens give clear warning signs and show that they are in distress. The are many ways to identify a person who is troubled and needs help. If we are able to identify people in distress, then we can help a lot of people. Some of the things you might want to look for are things such reckless behavior, social withdrawal, a decrease in overall grades or maybe even a physical change. These are all things that if you notice, you should acknowledge. Try and help the person by comforting them and asking them if there is anything wrong. You really have to listen and show that you understand.

Now here is what parents do not understand, they think that they have solved the problem, so they just leave it alone. Or they might not even notice because they might be too busy. Parents and teachers need to take these steps to identify a person in danger. From 2007-2015, suicide rates among teens rose to 10.8 to 14.2 per 100,000 male teens and 2.4 to 5.1 per 100,000 female teens. This shows that parents unfortunately lose track of the awful terrors of what their kids are doing. There are proven ways to talk about this awful trend and parents need to use them. I am disgusted by all these people who sit there and watch these children die because they can’t get the help they need. Parents need to step up and make a change.

 

Bruh (┛◉Д◉)┛彡┻━┻(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻(┛ಠ_ಠ)┛彡┻━┻

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *