Free Write: Matthew

The year of 2020 is probably going to be the most memorable of my life time, and for good reason. 2020 suddenly hit us with corona virus and greatly impacted everyone’s lives. Even mundane daily events swiftly changed, such as going to school and the store. The year left many to figure out how to continue daily lives in the strange new circumstances. One such example of this that I remember was my birthday. As we continued online school, the days seemed to go quicker and quicker as we rushed through the months. Soon, my birthday loomed over the corner, and I had no idea as to what I was going to do. I woke up one morning and checked my phone, today was May 1st, my birthday. A opened up safari and went to the HKMS homepage, to do my attendance for the day. As a scrolled through the page, I heard footsteps on the wooden floor outside my door. I filled out the form and got out of my bed. As I opened the door, I saw a piece of lime green wrapping paper that was taped to the door frame. On it, was the text written “Happy Birthday Matthew”. As I fiddled with the paper to get through, I heard a voice from the other side of the divider across my door. “You need to break it open, idiot”, my sister Katherine frustratedly said. Quickly, I pushed my hand through the paper and ripped a hole with the other large enough for me to get through. As I inched my way through the paper tunnel, I saw my Mom, Dad and sister holding an object. As I looked up, they began singing Happy Birthday, however they were accompanied by other voices coming from the screen. I looked up and saw that my sister was holding up a phone, and was in a Facetime with my friends, to wish me a happy birthday. I chose this story from quarantine because it shows that you can overcome many challenges if you try to carefully think about a solution.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *