Grant’s Letter Essay #9; Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

 

 

Recently, I finished reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, by the world famous New York Times Bestselling author J.K. Rowling. It was published in 1997. The Sorcerer’s Stone is the first installment of the seven books in the Harry Potter Series.

 

When I was in 3rd Grade, I found out about this book while in a Barnes and Noble bookstore. As I was searching for a book to read for the summer, I found this sitting on the front of the shelf. I had heard vaguely about the famous series and my Grandmother was the one that convinced me to give it a try. After enjoying the series all throughout third grade, it became my favorite book I have ever read. To this day though, The whole Harry Potter Series sits collecting dust on my shelf. So this is why, around three weeks ago I decided to pick it up and see if it was still my all-time favorite book. I am thrilled that I did.

 

Harry Potter was a first in many ways which is why it does not remind me of any particular book. There are many other Fantasy books, though that try and match the brilliant work of J.K. Rowling, and in my opinion they have all failed. The Harry Potter Series just cannot be copied. It is just too great to match. I will try, though, to name one book that tried to live up to the Potter Legacy. The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan is one good example. This is a great book in it’s own way and when I read it a few years ago because I had heard it was similar to Harry Potter, I hated it. I believe that any book that tries to amount to the success of Harry Potter will fail. The Lightning Thief is a great book, but almost any book that tries to be Harry Potter will fail.

 

In the Novel, Harry is a normal boy living in England for his whole childhood. He lives with his Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon, and his tormenting cousin Dudley. There is one thing about Harry that is different than the other children in his school- He has a lightning-bolt shaped scar on his forehead. He was not aware of where the scar came from until one day, when a Giant named Hagrid came to his doorstep.

Hagrid told Harry the truth-that he was a wizard, and his parents were wizards too. His parents, Hagrid told him, were killed by a terrible man named Lord Voldemort. Harry merely escaped his death, in which many wizards called a miracle.

Hagrid offered Harry a spot at the Wizarding School of Hogwarts, where Harry could attend school for the next seven years. Harry immediately accepted the offer. His Aunt and Uncle however, did not.

Hagrid and Harry persuaded Petunia and Vernon into finally accepting the offer.

Harry eventually met great friends in Ron and Hermione and an enemy too- Draco Malfoy.

As the novel moves on, Harry continues to enjoy Hogwarts, but runs into more and more trouble.

I was interested when the whole school erupted in song, singing the school’s anthem. J.K Rowling was able to add humor into a very serious book at this point, something that they did not include in a more dreary movie installment. “Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Warty Hogwarts, Teach us something please, Whether we be old and bald, Or young with scabby knees, Our heads could do with filling, With some interesting stuff, For now they’re bare and full of air, Dead flies and bits of fluff, So teach us things worth knowing, Bring back what we’ve forgot,  Just do your best,  we’ll do the rest, And learn until our brains all rot.” (ch. 7)

 

I was surprised when Harry sees his parents in the Mirror of Erised. The whole scene in the book seemed real to me and surprised me when it was not real nor a dream. The mirror is a major part of the sorcerers stone and this scene shows how important it is.
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has, in the 19 years that it has been around, has already shaped itself into an American Classic, which is why it deserves a 10 out of 10.  The Harry Potter series still stands as my favorite series I have ever read, with the Sorcerer’s Stone in the lead for my favorite of the series.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *