Letter Essay #8 Claire Kocis

 

Recently I finished reading the novel I Got This, by Laurie Hernandez. The genre of this book is Biography and has 240 pages. Laurie Hernandez is an Olympic gymnast, part of the 2016 USA Rio gymnastics team. Laurie Hernandez is 16 years old. Laurie Hernandez is not only an olympic gymnast but she is an olympic gold medalist. Not only did Laurie participate in the olympics but she was the youngest ever champion on dancing with the stars. The biography, I Got This, is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA today bestseller.  This novel was published on January 24th, 2017.So far this book hasn’t gotten any awards since it was just recently published. I’m sure it will though since it is such a great book. I read this book because I am a competitive gymnast like Laurie. I had also been wanting to read this book since I heard that it was coming out. I had also heard a lot of good things about this book.

 

I got this, is an amazing book. This book is about Laurie Hernandez’s story and how she got where she is today. This book starts from when Laurie was a little girl to were she is now. This novel talks about having no regrets and how everything is done for a reason. Laurie Hernandez is really inspiring in this book. A lot of people didn’t think Laurie could complete her dream of going to the olympics since that is every gymnast’s dream. This novel talks about all the hard times that Laurie went through in her life and all the good and how that made her a better person. When Laurie was chosen for the olympic team for 2016. The amazing novel is about growing up with the dream of going to the olympics and what it felt like to win gold. Laurie talks about her family and how they got here where she is today, her rigorous training and her sacrifices. This book is amazing and I personally don’t think I have read a better biography.  

 

I noticed how the author used a good choice of words. When describing certain events Laurie used a good choice of words. Since this book is about Lauries life, I thought that it was really smart for Simone to put in a different choice of words. Personally I think that biographies can get a little boring so I think Laurie did a really good job on making it more interesting by the words she used. Also the words she used I feel like made the book so much better. It made the reader more engaged in the book. I think that using different words makes the book better and Laurie did a great job with that.

 

This book reminded me of the novel Courage to Soar, by Simone Biles. Simone Biles was also part of the 2016 Rio gymnastics team. Since Simone were on the same team I found many similarities between the two books but I also found some differences. Obviously they both talked about their journey to the olympics and how they felt about it and the hardships they went through. Another similarity is that Laurie and Simone both have taken part in Dancing With The Stars. Lauries novel is a little different than simones because Laurie’s talks about how people always doubted her and what she learned from that.

 

The genre of this book is a  Auto Biography. Personally I think this book could only be written in one other genre which is Biography. I don’t think the book would be as good since it wouldn’t be coming from who the book is about but I still think that it would work. I think having the book an autobiography made the book better. Since Laurie was the other of the novel she could add more information into the book to make it better and add more description.

 

Laurie always said words to herself in times when she needed it the most. An important passage in I Got this is; On August 15th, 2016, I whispered something to myself that ended up being heard all around the world. I Got This, I said as I touched the balance beam before performing my final routine in the team competition during the Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. I didn’t expect those three little words to blow up on social media the way that they did- they were simply a reminder to myself that I had practiced so incredibly hard for that moment, that I could do it. I feel that this is the most important passage in the book because it really reflects on the whole book and the reason for writing the novel. I would give this book a 9/10 because there is always room for improvement.

 

From,

 Claire Kocis

Recently I finished reading the novel I Got This, by Laurie Hernandez. The genre of this book is Biography and has 240 pages. Laurie Hernandez is an Olympic gymnast, part of the 2016 USA Rio gymnastics team. Laurie Hernandez is 16 years old. Laurie Hernandez is not only an olympic gymnast but she is an olympic gold medalist. Not only did Laurie participate in the olympics but she was the youngest ever champion on dancing with the stars. The biography, I Got This, is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA today bestseller.  This novel was published on January 24th, 2017.So far this book hasn’t gotten any awards since it was just recently published. I’m sure it will though since it is such a great book. I read this book because I am a competitive gymnast like Laurie. I had also been wanting to read this book since I heard that it was coming out. I had also heard a lot of good things about this book.

 

I got this, is an amazing book. This book is about Laurie Hernandez’s story and how she got where she is today. This book starts from when Laurie was a little girl to were she is now. This novel talks about having no regrets and how everything is done for a reason. Laurie Hernandez is really inspiring in this book. A lot of people didn’t think Laurie could complete her dream of going to the olympics since that is every gymnast’s dream. This novel talks about all the hard times that Laurie went through in her life and all the good and how that made her a better person. When Laurie was chosen for the olympic team for 2016. The amazing novel is about growing up with the dream of going to the olympics and what it felt like to win gold. Laurie talks about her family and how they got here where she is today, her rigorous training and her sacrifices. This book is amazing and I personally don’t think I have read a better biography.  

 

I noticed how the author used a good choice of words. When describing certain events Laurie used a good choice of words. Since this book is about Lauries life, I thought that it was really smart for Simone to put in a different choice of words. Personally I think that biographies can get a little boring so I think Laurie did a really good job on making it more interesting by the words she used. Also the words she used I feel like made the book so much better. It made the reader more engaged in the book. I think that using different words makes the book better and Laurie did a great job with that.

 

This book reminded me of the novel Courage to Soar, by Simone Biles. Simone Biles was also part of the 2016 Rio gymnastics team. Since Simone were on the same team I found many similarities between the two books but I also found some differences. Obviously they both talked about their journey to the olympics and how they felt about it and the hardships they went through. Another similarity is that Laurie and Simone both have taken part in Dancing With The Stars. Lauries novel is a little different than simones because Laurie’s talks about how people always doubted her and what she learned from that.

 

The genre of this book is a  Auto Biography. Personally I think this book could only be written in one other genre which is Biography. I don’t think the book would be as good since it wouldn’t be coming from who the book is about but I still think that it would work. I think having the book an autobiography made the book better. Since Laurie was the other of the novel she could add more information into the book to make it better and add more description.

 

Laurie always said words to herself in times when she needed it the most. An important passage in I Got this is; On August 15th, 2016, I whispered something to myself that ended up being heard all around the world. I Got This, I said as I touched the balance beam before performing my final routine in the team competition during the Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. I didn’t expect those three little words to blow up on social media the way that they did- they were simply a reminder to myself that I had practiced so incredibly hard for that moment, that I could do it. I feel that this is the most important passage in the book because it really reflects on the whole book and the reason for writing the novel. I would give this book a 9/10 because there is always room for improvement.

 

From,

 Claire Kocis

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *