In The Creek

Weightless. That is what I am. Coolness seeped to the tips of my fingers, and my hair fanned around me. I was more alive than ever, but yet ready to go to sleep. My eyelids closed. In a second I felt all of this. Yet if felt like forever. I pushed my body up in a regular human reaction. But once I broke the surface, I wish I could go back. But… this is no way to start. Let me explain what happened.

I dragged my dad out of the porch door. My grandparents house was white, and small, and had a screen porch randomly sticking out in the back. The plastic and screen door slowly swung until the springs that were wanted to be together again had enough and slammed shut. My dad lazily followed, holding his hand I pulled more, starting to result to dragging him.

My dad had thick brown hair that he claimed to be once blond and hazel eyes that changed color. Today his eyes looked a little greenish. I never get to see him. He sometimes gets home at 2 in the morning, and leaves a 5 or 6. He does this a lot in the end of the month.

We broke the surface of the woods I looked around at the tranquil setting. The birds whistled above me. Giant trees loomed over me as I ventured into the forest. Giant leaves littered the floor and threatened to whack me in the face from low branches. We walked through, too mesmerized by the beauty to say anything. We follow a non-existing path through the strip of woods. We come to a Clearing. Tall waist high grass spring all around me. I wade through it like a creek. As we clear this element we see it. The rushing water was tranquil. Birds twittering seemed to be nonexistent. I ran to the water, it was just like I left it. Rocks sprang up in the middle and made swirls in the water.

I remember at summer camp, rowing out on the lake in a kayak, with my best friend Margot. She would always stick her fingers into the swirls I made with the paddle. Whenever she would row, she wouldn’t go fast enough to make any swirles. I never got to put my hand in a swirl. So, I wonder, why not now? I sit down on the only sandy bank, and stretched my hand out. The cool water lapped over my hands. I wanted to pull back but I sank my hand in deeper. I was about a foot away, so I got up and trudged to another spot. It was one of the rocks, just offshore. The rock in the middle of the creek was just a little over a arms length away. Although, this rock I was sitting on didn’t make any swirles, the one in the middle made huge ones. I was just about to stretch my hand out when….

“You’re going to fall in!” my dad warned. “No I am not,” I say a little uncertainly. He dropped the subject. I reached out, millimeters away from the perfect swirl. But just that millimeters, nothing less and unless I grew an inch in a few minutes, I was not going to touch it. I let out a long sigh. Sadness draped like a cape over my heart. Suddenly, as if someone stricken a match, I had an idea. Standing up with new-found energy, I looked over to the other rock. I could make it I told myself. I realized that going there would be easier than coming back. For though the rock I was standing on had moss on it and the far side was covered with pebbles that could hurt my feet. It will be easier to find a way back from the other side! Plus you could always just walk through the water if it came down to that. Before I could think any more, I jumped.

I landed safely. In my worn out flats, my feet felt like they were touching the rock. Water lapped around me, threatening to turn my shoes a darker blue. Lowering my hand into the freezing water I realized why Margot liked it so much. The water felt like it was tying my hand into a liquid ribbon, forever threading it in place. The minutes felt like hours as I experimented with sticking my right, my left, or both my hands in each swirl. Beginning to get board I look back to the other rock.

“Hey dad,” I yell realizing that there was too much of a risk in jumping. “ya?” he replied. “can you help me?” I ask weakly, gesturing to my situation. He climbed over to the first rock and began steadying himself on it. “when I say go, jump” we waited for a minute before he said “okay-” But i already jumped.

Weightless. That is what I am. Coolness seeped to the tips of my fingers, and my hair fanned around me. I was more alive than ever, but yet ready to go to sleep. My eyelids closed. In a second I felt all of this. Yet if felt like forever. I pushed my body up in a regular human reaction. But once I broke the surface, I wish I could go back. My dad stared down at me, laughing. I dragged my body up into a standing position. My nice clothes clinged to me and threatened to fall off my shoulders.

I decided to trudge through the water to the sandy bank. In my mind I mark the day as the best day ever. Not because of sticking my hand in a swirl, but because I fell into the creek….if that makes any sense. Maybe it isn’t supposed to

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *