Louie’s Letter Essay 8: Diary Of A Wimpy Kid

I have recently finished reading the novel “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” a 217 page novel by Jeff Kinney.

The book is about a middle schooler named Greg Heffley whose goal is not to be like the rest of the middle school “morons”.’ He is small and weak compared to other kids who seem mean.  The genre of this book is unrealistic fiction.  I chose this this book because I like the author Jeff Kinney and all of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books in the series I have read so far .  It is about middle school years which is something I can really relate to.  The author finds a way to put a funny spin on everything that happens to Greg in school. I wish that there was a way to put a funny spin on everything that actually happens in middle school.  Sometimes the work in middle school seems gives you anxiety as it is, but Greg also talks about having to deal with the different kids and trying to fit in.   I didn’t agree with how the author made middle school seem easy.  He tries to make all of the problems that Greg goes through seem funny and includes a lot of funny pictures in the book.  But in real life middle school is not all that funny.  It can be difficult and problems are not always easy to solve.  

 

This next quote passage shows how school can be tough so sometimes you can’t give it all of your effort.  “I was pretty disappointed to find out I had been put in the gifted group, because that just means a whole lot of extra work.  When they did the screening at the end of last year, I did my best to make sure that I got put into the easy group this year.  Mom is real tight with our principal, so I bet mom stepped in and got me into the gifted group again.  Mom is always saying I’m a smart kid, but that I just don’t apply myself.”  This passage really hits home with me because it sounds just like something my mom would say to me.  That is why I chose this passage.  I would rate this book a 7 out of 10 and would recommend it to anyone who likes a silly book .

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *