Memoir Danny Ramadan

Danny Ramadan

Mr. Jockers

Period 6

2/1/18

 

The Ride of my Life

 

Walking out of your comfort zone is tough. Walking outside for me is too. The cold weather I can feel. The bright light in my face and then the flashes off light and darkness in my eyes.

 

I was never the adventurous outdoor person. Sure I liked to go for a hike once in a while, but that was the outdoor part of me. Anyway fast a little bit. Winter of 2015 and I barely remember anything from that time because one all of my family was there and off course there was no school. My cousins are crazy. They will literally do anything that seems thrilling to them no matter the consequences. My craziest cousins name is John. He once went as far as to have the idea to camp overnight in the backwoods of my house.

He said “There might be coyotes and bears, but as long as we don’t bring any food we should be alright.”

After he said that no one and I mean no one took him seriously, but now let’s fast forward a bit of time.

It was really cold out with snow and wind in the month of November so we did what the normal person would do and we stayed inside, but my crazy cousin John had to be the person extra and come up with the crazy idea of taking wood and slide down on it. John is the person that everyone listens to and everyone looks up to even though all of his ideas are bad ones that always don’t end up well. This one was one of them. He decided that instead of watching TV inside we should go outside and do some “Sledding” yet by “Sledding” he meant make your own sled because we didn’t have any. So in John’s mind when something isn’t like the way you want it then you can make it the way you want it. So what he did was shocking. In about 20 minutes he made 3 wood sleds. I thought that it was phenomenal.

“Hey John that’s pretty good” I said.

He then replied and said “Yeah I think if you oil the bottom a little then it will go to the moon and back.”

Then push came to shove and I eventually took the slab of wood and dove head first on to it. The next things I witnessed was something I would have never expected. The speed increasing, the elevation decreasing and then I look up and…

I look up, then I blacked out.

I looked to the left and then say darkness.

I looked again and found myself in a bed, in a room, in a building.

“Where… Where am I?” I asked.

My mother then came over to me and told me I was in the hospital. I was going to ask why, but before I could get the words out I realized that this must have been from the hit I took. The only thing that I remembered from the hour early was the hit from the tree. My parents were talking, but I could only have made out a few words, those being, Concussion, Tylenol, Tree, Golf club. The fact that I was in the hospital was puzzling to me. I actually got the jist of what was going on. What happened was, the wood that I went down the hill on took a curve and I skimmed a big tree with the side of my head. Luckily the doctor said I was okay and that I had no concussion whatsoever. He just said to stay home for a few days and take medicine to relief the pain and I should be good.

The lesson of this story is to think twice before you do something really crazy, but more importantly start to think and be smart if you have ever did something like this too.

 

My parents and family have never brought this story up after the incident. I really don’t know why, but I really don’t wouldn’t like to talk about it with them. So at the end of the day I am glad to have done this because I learned a valuable lesson of life. That is being smart can not only land you a job, but can also save you from incidents like this one.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1 thought on “Memoir Danny Ramadan

  1. Danny,

    [Verse 1]
    Somebody once told me the world is gonna roll me
    I ain’t the sharpest tool in the shed
    She was looking kind of dumb with her finger and her thumb
    In the shape of an “L” on her forehead

    [Pre-Chorus]
    Well, the years start coming and they don’t stop coming
    Fed to the rules and I hit the ground running
    Didn’t make sense not to live for fun
    Your brain gets smart but your head gets dumb
    So much to do, so much to see
    So what’s wrong with taking the backstreets?
    You’ll never know if you don’t go
    You’ll never shine if you don’t glow

    [Chorus]
    Hey now you’re an All Star, get your game on, go play
    Hey now you’re a Rock Star, get the show on, get paid
    And all that glitters is gold
    Only shooting stars break the mold

    [Verse 2]
    It’s a cool place, and they say it gets colder
    You’re bundled up now but wait ’til you get older
    But the meteor men beg to differ
    Judging by the hole in the satellite picture
    The ice we skate is getting pretty thin
    The water’s getting warm so you might as well swim
    My world’s on fire, how about yours?
    That’s the way I like it and I’ll never get bored

    [Chorus]
    Hey now you’re an All Star, get your game on, go play
    Hey now you’re a Rock Star, get the show on, get paid
    And all that glitters is gold
    Only shooting stars break the mold

    [Bridge]
    (Go for the moon)
    (Go for the moon)
    (Go for the moon)
    (Go for the moon)

    [Chorus]
    Hey now you’re an All Star, get your game on, go play
    Hey now you’re a Rock Star, get the show on, get paid
    And all that glitters is gold
    Only shooting stars

    [Verse 3]
    Somebody once asked could I spare some change for gas?
    “I need to get myself away from this place”
    I said “Yep, what a concept
    I could use a little fuel myself
    And we could all use a little change!”

    [Pre-Chorus]
    Well, the years start coming and they don’t stop coming
    Fed to the rules and I hit the ground running
    Didn’t make sense not to live for fun
    Your brain gets smart but your head gets dumb
    So much to do, so much to see
    So what’s wrong with taking the backstreets?
    You’ll never know if you don’t go
    You’ll never shine if you don’t glow

    serenely,
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *